Former President,  Olusegun Obasanjo, on Friday shunned the 61st Independence Anniversary Ceremony at the Eagle Square in Abuja.

The ceremony was presided by President Muhammadu Buhari, on Friday.

Buhari was joined by former Head of State, Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (retd.); former President, Goodluck Jonathan, and his wife, Patience; and former Vice-President Namadi Sambo.

Others in attendance include Vice-President, Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President, Ahmad Lawan; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; Chief Justice of Nigeria, Ibrahim Tanko; cabinet ministers and other personalities.

Also at the parade ground were service chiefs: Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Oladayo Amao; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo; Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Farouk Yahaya; Chief Of Defence Staff, General Lucky Irabor and Inspector-General of Police, Usman Baba.

However, Obasanjo was absent from the Independence Day ritual known to be attended by former Presidents and Heads of Government alive.

It was, however, not clear whether the Presidential team did or did not invite Obasanjo.

Efforts to get comments from Obasanjo’s Media Aide, Kehinde Akinyemi, on Friday, proved abortive.

Also, as of the time of filing this report, there is no Independence Day statement from Obasanjo.

Until recently, Obasanjo has been unsparing with his criticism of Buhari, who has been a democratically elected President since 2015 and who is also an ex-military Head of State like Obasanjo.

Was this helpful?