JUST IN: APC Caretaker Committee Chairman Takes Over Secretariat


Caretaker Committee Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and Governor of Yobe State, Maimala Buni, has said he will carry all factions along in seeking for lasting peace for the party.

Buni arrived the National Secretariat in Company of APC Governors alongside outgoing Acting Chairman of the party, Victor Giadom.

He said that the NEC had directed all party members in court to withdraw all legal issues as he promised discussions would begin immediately.

Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong, told Journalists at the Secretariat that the Governors escorted the New Caretaker Chairman to the Party Secretariat in show of solidarity.

Other governors at the Secretariat are: Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti); Yahaya Bello (Kogi); Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano); Mallam Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna); among others.

In a letter dated June 25 and addressed to Mahmood Yakubu, INEC chairman, Mai Mala Buni, chairman of the caretaker/extra-ordinary convention committee; and John Udoedehe, secretary; said the party will hold its primary election on July 20.

“Please be informed that we have scheduled to hold our party’s primary election in respect of Ondo state on 20th July, 2020,” the letter read.

“Kindly arrange the monitoring of the exercise accordingly. Please accept the assurances of our highest esteem.”

In the heat of the party’s leadership crisis, the electoral commission had written the ruling party that its earlier communique informing it about its primary poll in Ondo was inappropriate because it was written by only Waziri Bulama, former APC national secretary.

Some of the governorship aspirants in Ondo on the platform of APC are Rotimi Akeredolu, governor of the state; Olusola Oke, Isaac Kekemeke and Olusola Iji.

Political parties are expected to submit names of their governorship candidates to INEC not later than July 28.

The governorship election is scheduled for October.

This is the first action of the caretaker committee that took over control of the party following national working committee (NWC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here