EdoDecides2020: Anxiety As 1.7 Million Edo Voters Elect New Governor


Over 1.7 million voters will today (Saturday 19, 2020) cast votes to elect the Governor of Edo State for the next four years.

Incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Pastor Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and 12 other candidates are participating in the election. 

Only 1.7 million people eligible to vote in Edo polls

Of the 14 candidates eyeing the Edo Government House, the battle seems to be between Obaseki of the PDP and Ize-Iyamu of the APC.

It was gathered that 483,769 of the State’s 2,210,534 registered voters failed to claim their Permanent Voters Card, PVC, hence are not eligible to participate in today’s election.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, the winner of today’s election will be determined by 1,726,765 voters that collected their PVCs.

The Chairman of INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, said voting will take place in 2,627 polling units across the 192 Wards in the 18 Local Government Areas of the State.

The other candidates participating in the poll are; Obhafuoso Paul of Action Alliance, AA, Akhigbe B. Ehiabhi of African Democratic Congress, ADC, Ibio Emmanuel of Action Democratic Party, ADP, Lucky Osagie Idehen of All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, Igbineweka Osamuede of Allied Peoples Movement, APM, and Amos Osalumese Areloegbe, Action People’s Party, APP.

Others are; Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah of Labour Party, LP, Agolebun Tracy of New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, Stevie Nash Ozono of National Rescue Movement, NRM, Felix Ikezor Obayangbon of Social Democratic Party, SDP, Jones Osagiobare of Young Progressive Party, YPP, and Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena of Zenith Labour Party, ZLP.

It would be recalled that in the 2016 Governorship election in the State, Obaseki who was the then candidate of the APC, defeated Ize-lyamu of the PDP.  Obaseki polled 319,483 votes, representing 52 percent of the votes cast while Ize-lyamu scored 253,173, representing 41 percent.

Both have switched platforms in today’s election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here